If A DUI Has Ruined Your Night, Give Us A Call
A fun night out can quickly turn bad if you are pulled over on suspicion of drinking and driving. If you have found yourself charged with DUI/DWI in Minnesota, it is important to contact an attorney as soon as possible to discuss your legal options. Our attorney at the Law Office Of Samuel E. Surface is experienced with and knowledgeable about the ever-changing DUI/DWI laws in Minnesota.
From our office in Stillwater, attorney Surface helps clients all over the Twin Cities metro area understand their DUI/DWI charges and possible repercussions. We will look at all the facts of your case and build you as strong a defense as possible. In many cases, you have just 60 days to hire a lawyer and legally mitigate the problems that may arise from a DUI arrest.
I Was Just Arrested On Suspicion Of DUI/DWI. Now What?
Minnesota is an implied consent state. This means that when you got your driver’s license, you agreed to consent to all future testing to determine sobriety when pulled over. If you do not consent, you risk losing driving privileges for 90 days, even for a first offense. If the tests show that you were above the legal limit, you will face immediate consequences:
- You will receive an automatic 90-day suspension of your license following a DWI arrest. You may be given a seven-day temporary license before the suspended license goes into effect. The suspension gets longer with each offense.
- Drivers may be required to forfeit their license plates in certain situations.
- If you are a repeat offender with three drunk driving convictions in 10 years, you may have to give up your vehicle.
- If you are convicted, you may need to attend alcohol classes or treatment.
These penalties can be heightened depending on the exact amount of alcohol in your system. Because there is no effective way to test for marijuana in the system, any amount of THC in your bloodstream can also be grounds for a DWI. Our lawyer has the experience to help you navigate a DWI arrest.